Quick Guide

This database was designed to be house the ever-growing knowledge of weed information. It combines identifying characteristics, biology and reproduction of top interfering species along with the latest Canadian University research summaries and management options. The objective of this site is to be a helpful resource for anyone trying to minimize the impact that these species have on the enviroment and to agriculture field crop production.

Search

This site is a powerful search tool, simply type in the name of a weed (common names, botanical name, or Bayer code) to access information for that specific weed, or better yet, if you don’t know the name of the weed that you need information on, simply search using descriptive terms such as "yellow flower", "spiny" or "stinky".

Weed Index

To view all the weeds in the system, select the "Weed Index" link in either the side or bottom navigation bars.

The Weed Index page is now displayed. All the weeds in the system are listed in alphabetical order based on their common name.

By default all types of weeds are displayed on this page. However, clicking on or off the check marks underneath the Grass, Broadleaf, and Perennial icons, either includes or excludes these types of weeds from the list. This is done to allow you, the user to view all weeds, grass only, grass and broadleaf, grass and perennial, etc. at your discretion.

To reduce scrolling, you can click on the letter of the alphabet positioned above the listing to immediately shift the screen to display the weeds that start with that letter.

Weed Information Pages

Once on an actual weed information page, all the information for that specific weed is displayed, including reference illustrations and photographs.

Navigation for the weed information page is located to the right of the page in a Table of Contents format. Simply click on the appropriate link and that section of the page will be displayed.

Where applicable, various links to outside research sites throughout the text will link you through to the most up-to-date information possible.

All illustrations and photographs appear as thumbnails in the side navigation, when clicked they enlarge into full sized images, simply click on the enlarged image to reduce it to it’s original size. These images can also be found at the bottom of the page with figure captions.

Glossary

If there are any words or terms used in the OntarioWeeds site that you are not familiar with, select the "Glossary" link in either the side or bottom navigation to take you to the alphabetized glossary.

Acknowledgements

Many leading professionals were involved in bringing this site to life. Selecting the "Acknowledgements" link in either the side or bottom navigation will access the list of contributors.

Guide de référence rapide mauvaisesherbes

Mauvaisesherbes.ca a été conçu pour devenir une base évolutive de connaissance sur les mauvaises herbes. En indiquant les caractéristiques biologiques et les méthodes d’identification des espèces les plus néfastes ainsi que les articles de recherches les plus récentes, de médias et d’options de contrôle, mauvaisesherbes.ca fournit les outils nécessaires pour prendre des décisions éclairées sur la façon d’enrayer les mauvaises herbes tout en réduisant les risques.

Recherche

Mauvaisesherbes.ca est un outil de recherches puissant. Tapez simplement le nom d’une mauvaise herbe (son nom commun, son nom botanique ou son code Bayer) et vous aurez accès à tous les renseignements concernant cette mauvaise herbe spécifique. Le plus beau, c’est que, si vous ne connaissez pas le nom de la mauvaise herbe sur laquelle vous avez besoin de renseignements, vous pouvez faire une recherche en utilisant des termes descriptifs, tels que « fleur jaune » ou « chardon ».

Sommaire des mauvaises herbes

Pour visionner toutes les mauvaises herbes dans la banque de données, cliquez sur le lien « Index mauvaises herbes » sur la barre de navigation latérale ou la barre de navigation du bas.

La page « Index des mauvaises herbes » apparaît. Toutes les mauvaises herbes incluses dans la banque de données sont listées par ordre alphabétique, sur la base de leur nom commun.

Par défaut, tous les types de mauvaises herbes sont affichés sur cette page. Cependant, en cochant ou en désélectionnant la case située sous les icônes « Graminée », « Dicotylédone » et « Vivace », on peut inclure ou exclure ce type de mauvaises herbes de la liste. Cela vous permettra de visionner toutes les mauvaises herbes, les graminées seulement, les graminées et les dicotylédones, les graminées et les vivaces etc., à votre guise.

Pour réduire le temps passé à faire défiler les mauvaises herbes jusqu’à l’herbe qui vous intéresse, vous pouvez cliquer sur la lettre de l’alphabet située au-dessus de la liste. L’écran affichera alors la liste de toutes les herbes commençant par cette lettre.

Pages de renseignements sur les mauvaises herbes

Une fois que vous êtes sur la page informative d’une herbe, tous les renseignements concernant cette herbe spécifique sont affichés, y compris des illustrations et des photos de référence.

La navigation de la page informative est située à droite de la page et apparaît comme une « Table des matières ». Cliquez simplement sur le lien qui vous intéresse pour afficher cette section.

Si applicable, plusieurs liens vers des sites de recherches externes seront affichés, pour mettre à votre disposition les informations les plus à jour possibles.

Toutes les illustrations et les photos apparaîtront sous forme de vignettes sur le côté. Pour les agrandir, cliquez une fois sur la vignette. Pour les réduire à leur taille d’origine, cliquez de nouveau sur la photo agrandie. Ces images et leur légende se trouvent également en bas de la page.

Glossaire

Si vous ne connaissez pas un des mots ou des termes utilisés sur le site mauvaisesherbes, sélectionnez le lien « Glossaire » sur la barre de navigation latérale ou celle du bas. Cela affichera un glossaire par ordre alphabétique.

Remerciements

De nombreux professionnels éminents ont participé à la mise en œuvre de mauvaisesherbes. Choisir le lien « Remerciements » sur l’une des deux barres de navigation vous permettra de visionner la liste des personnes qui y ont contribué.