Pigweed, Redroot, Amaranthus retroflexus

Life Cycle

Annual

Propagation

Reproducing only by seed.

Stems

Stems erect, 10 cm - 2 m high, but usually 50 - 90 cm, simple or branched, lower part thick and smooth, upper part usually rough with dense short hair, greenish to slightly reddish but usually red near the roots.

Leaves

Leaves alternate (1 per node), long-stalked, ovate with a shallow notch at the tip on young plants but on older plants somewhat diamond-shaped, dull green above but lighter green and with prominent whitish veins below, and somewhat hairy.

Flowers and Fruit

Inflorescence a coarse, branching, bristly panicle made up of a short, thick terminal spike (a) and below it several to many short, lateral finger-like spikes (b), these pointing upward (B) if not crowded or outward if densely crowded, and smaller spikes in some lower leaf axils (c), each spike made up of many tiny flowers and spiny-tipped bracts (d) up to 8 mm long; each flower unisexual, having either 1 pistil or 5 stamens but never both; seeds black, shiny, round, flattened with a narrow, thin margin, and about 1 mm in diameter. Flowers from July to August.

Roots and Underground Structures

Fibrous root system from a shallow taproot.

Habitat

Redroot pigweed is a common weed in cultivated fields, gardens, pastures, waste places, roadsides and other disturbed areas throughout Ontario.

Competitiveness

Corn yield loss (%)*: 11 % at 1 plant/m2 34 % at 5 plant/m2 Soybean yield loss (%)*: 12 % at 1 plant/m2 36 % at 5 plant/m2 *assumes that the weed has emerged with the crop and has been left uncontrolled all season.

Distinguishing Features

- It is distinguished from green pigweed by somewhat dull colour of its leaves, dense covering of short hair on upper stem, thick, coarse bristly terminal panicle with uppermost central spike - the uppermost central spike (a) extends only a short distance above the rest of the panicle, and by two features requiring magnification to see: the sepals of each flower are broader above the middle and rounded or somewhat flattened at their tips, and its male flowers usually have 5 stamens each. - It is distinguished from Tumble pigweed and Prostrate pigweed by its tall, erect habit of growth, its larger and broader leaves, and its flowers crowded into a thick, terminal panicle as well as in some of the lower leaf axils; from Smooth pigweed by its coarse, harsh inflorescence.

Toxicity

Redroot pigweed is not known to be toxic. Both the leaves and the seed are edible.

Human Health Issues

Redroot pigweed is not an known allergen.

Forage Quality

No information exists at this time.

Species Benefits

"The tender leaves can be boiled for 10-15 minutes or added to salad. The tiny black seeds make a nutritious flour". From: Peterson, LA, 1977, A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants of Eastern and Central North America, Houghton Mifflin Company, New York.

Often Mistaken For

Green pigweed (AMAPO), Common waterhemp (AMARU), Smooth pigweed (AMACH)

Power Ranking Corn

Power Ranking

↑ 6

 

Power Ranking Soybeans

Power Ranking

↑ 3

 

Biological Control

Currently none available for this weed. For the latest research on biological weed control: http://res2.agr.ca/Lethbridge/weedbio/index_e.htm#toc

Herbicide Resistance

Sulphonylurea and imidazolinone resistant (WSSA group 2) populations exist in Bruce, Elgin, Essex, Hamilton-Wentworth, Huron, Kent, Lambton, Oxford, Perth, Middlesex, Stormont, Dundas & Glengary and Wellington counties (ON). Triazine resistant (WSSA group 5) populations exist in Waterloo (ON). For more information on weed resistance: http://www.plant.uoguelph.ca/resistant-weeds/


Figure #1.

Redroot pigweed. A. Base of plant. B. Top of flowering plant.


Figure #2.

Redroot pigweed at the 2-leaf stage. Leaves are more 'dull green' in colour compared to green pigweed.


Figure #3.


Figure #4.

Dull green leaf of redroot pigweed.


Figure #5.

Redroot pigweed leaf top.


Figure #6.

Redroot pigweed seedhead.


Figure #7.

Redroot pigweed seed head.


Figure #8.

Close up of dense covering of short hair on upper stem (distinguishing it from green pigweed).


Figure #9.

Redroot pigweed basal stem.

Amarante à racine rouge, Amaranthus retroflexus

Cycle de la plante

Annuelle

Propagation

Ne se reproduisant que par graines.

Tiges

Dressées, habituellement de 50 à 90 cm (20-36 po) de hauteur, mais pouvant aller de 10 cm à 4 m (4 po à 6,5 pi), simples ou ramifiées, partie inférieure épaisse et lisse, partie supérieure habituellement rêche à cause de la présence de poils courts et denses, verdâtres ou légèrement rougeâtres, mais habituellement rouges près des racines.

Feuilles

Alternes (1 par noeud) longuement pétiolées, ovées, présentant chez les jeunes plants une entaille peu profonde à la pointe, légèrement losangées chez les plantes adultes, dessus de la feuille vert mat, dessous vert plus clair, quelque peu velu et sillonné de nervures blanchâtres proéminentes.

Fleurs et fruits

Pour inflorescence, une panicule touffue, ramifiée et hirsute composée d'un épi terminal (a) épais et court et au-dessous, d'un nombre plus ou moins grand d'épis digités (b) pointant vers le haut (B) quand ils ne sont pas trop nombreux ou vers l'extérieur quand ils sont nombreux, ainsi que d'une multitude d'épis plus petits aux aisselles de certaines feuilles inférieures (c), chaque épi formé de nombreuses fleurs minuscules et de bractées (d) à pointe épineuse pouvant atteindre 8 mm (1/3 po) de longueur; chaque fleur unisexuée dotée soit de 1 pistil, soit de 5 étamines, jamais des deux (comme l'amarante fausse-blite). Graines noires, luisantes, rondes, aplaties, à bord mince et étroit, d'environ 1 mm (1/25 po) de diamètre. Floraison en juillet et août.

Rhizomes

Un système fibreux de racine avec un taproot peu profond.

Habitat

L'amarante à racine rouge est une mauvaise herbe commune des champs cultivés, des jardins, des pâturages, des terrains incultes, des bords de routes et autres lieux où le sol a été perturbé partout en Ontario.

Compétitivité

Maïs: 11% et 34% en pertes de rendements à 1 et 5 plants/m2 respectivement. Soya: 12% et 36% en pertes de rendements à 1 et 5 plants/m2 respectivement.

Traits distinctifs

Elle se différencie de l'amarante blanche et de l'amarante fausse-blite par sa hauteur, son port dressé, ses feuilles plus grandes et plus larges et par ses fleurs nombreuses réunies en une panicule terminale épaisse ou insérées aux aisselles des feuilles inférieures. Elle diffère de l'amarante hybride par son inflorescence hirsute et rêche et se distingue de l'amarante de Powell par ses feuilles plutôt vert mat, la pilosité courte et dense de ses tiges supérieures, la panicule terminale épaisse, hirsute et rêche dont l'épi central (a) le plus élevé ne dépasse que légèrement les autres épis, et par deux caractéristiques qui ne sont visibles qu'à la loupe : les sépales sont plus larges dans les fleurs situées au-dessus du milieu de la plante et arrondis ou quelque peu aplatis lorsqu'elles sont au sommet; les fleurs mâles ont habituellement 5 étamines chacune.

Toxicité Générale

Amarante à racine rouge n'est pas connu pour être toxique. Les feuilles et la graine sont comestibles.

Issues De Santé Humaine

Amarante à racine rouge n'est pas un allergène connu.

Qualité De Fourrage

Aucune information n'existe actuellement.

Avantages d'espèces

Les jeunes feuilles peuvent être bouillies pendant 10 à 15 minutes ou ajoutées aux salades. Les semences sont petites et noires et elles peuvent être moulues pour en faire une farine nutritive. De : Peterson, LA, 1977, A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants of Eastern and Central North America, Houghton Mifflin Company, New York.

Souvent méprise pour

Amarante de Powell (AMAPO), Common waterhemp (AMARU), Amarante verte (AMACH)

Rang - Maïs

Classement selon le grade

↑ 6

 

Rang - Soya

Classement selon le grade

↑ 3

 

Lutte Biologique

Actuellement aucun disponible pour cette mauvaise herbe. http://res2.agr.ca/Lethbridge/weedbio/index_f.htm pour recherche sur de lutte biologique contre les mauvaise herbe.

Resistance aux herbicide

Population résistante au Group 2 (WSSA) confirmée dans le comté Bruce, Elgin, Essex, Hamilton-Wentworth, Huron, Kent, Lambton, Oxford, Perth, Middlesex et Wellington (ON). Population résistante au Group 5 (WSSA) confirmée dans le comté Waterloo (ON).


Numéro de l'image1.

Amarante à racine rouge. A. Base d'une plante. B. Sommité florifère.


Numéro de l'image2.

Amarante à racine rouge à l'étape 2-leaf.


Numéro de l'image3.

Amarante à racine rouge. Sommité florifère.