Milkweed, Common, Asclepias syriaca

Life Cycle

Perennial.

Propagation

Reproducing by seed and by underground roots.

Stems

Stems erect, 1-2m high, stout, unbranched or sometimes with 1 or 2 branches near the top, usually several stems close together from the underground root system.

Leaves

Leaves are opposite (2 per node) or whorled (3 or more per node) and are oblong with a rounded or tapered base and a rounded to somewhat pointed tip. The leaves are without teeth and the underside is covered with fine velvety hair, but the upper surface is usually without hair and is a deeper green colour.

Flowers and Fruit

Flowers in a dense, nearly spherical clusters or umbels at tip of stem and from axils of upper leaves, each flower 8-10mm across, greenish to purplish or whitish, with 5 thin sepals and 5 larger petal lobes bent back along the flower stalk and an unusual arrangement of 5 hoods and horns forming a crown or corona around the top of each flower. The flowers are uniquely adapted for insect pollination, having waxy pollen in tiny wishbone-shaped structures which hook onto an insect's leg but come off when transferred to the flower of a different plant. Fruits at first green, fleshy, 7-10cm long and ¼ to ½ as wide, covered with soft, warty protuberances, later turning brown, splitting lengthwise along a single opening and releasing numerous seeds; usually only 1 or 2 (rarely up to 5) seedpods develop from the many flowers of a single flower cluster; seed flat, oval, with a tuft of long silky hair at one end. The whole plant, root, stem, leaves, flowers and fruit, contain abundant, thick, white, milky juice. Flowers from mid-June to August, and matures seed from August to October.

Roots and Underground Structures

Horizontally spreading underground roots which produce new leafy stems.

Habitat

Common milkweed occurs throughout southern Ontario in pastures, meadows, waste places, roadsides and cultivated land. It is especially common in the Manitoulin Islands and the east-central portions of southern Ontario, but it seems to be increasing in most other portions of the province as well.

Distinguishing Features

It is distinguished by its pairs of broad, oval, softly hairy leaves, umbels of purplish to whitish flowers with their peculiar arrangement of parts, and the large, thick, softly warty seedpods. A milky juice containing alkaloids are contained within the plant.

Toxicity

Other species of milkweed have been found to be highly toxic to livestock, and circumstantial evidence suggests that the common milkweed may, under some circumstances, also be toxic.

Species Benefits

Milkweed is the primary source of nutrients for monarch butterfly larvae. In addition, they are an important source of nectar for other species including bees.

Legislation

Noxious under the Ontario Weed Control Act.


Figure #1.

A. Top of flowering plant. B. Seedpods with 1 open and showing its layers of seeds with their tufts of long, silky hairs.


Figure #10.

Dense flowers of milkweed plant. a) 5 larger petal lobes bent back along flower stalk b) 5 horns or hoods forming a 'coronoa' or crown around the top of each flower.


Figure #11.

Seedpod (B).


Figure #12.

Seedpod and seeds of milkweed plant. Early November, Southern Ontario.


Figure #2.


Figure #3.

Milkweed plant in central Ontario, late July. Leaves are opposite or whorled.


Figure #4.

Young milkweed plant in field.


Figure #5.


Figure #6.

Stem of milkweed plant.


Figure #7.

Milkweed "milk".


Figure #8.

Flowers of milkweed before opening.


Figure #9.

Purple-white flowers of common milkweed.

Asclépiade de Syrie, Asclepias syriaca

Cycle de la plante

Plante vivace.

Propagation

Se reproduit par germination et par racines souterraines.

Tiges

Mesurant de 1 à 2 mètres de hauteur, les tiges sont dressées, robustes et non ramifiées ou comptent un ou deux rameaux près du sommet. Habituellement, plusieurs tiges naissent les unes contre les autres sur le système racinaire.

Feuilles

Les feuilles opposées (deux par nœud) ou verticillées (trois ou plus par nœud) sont oblongues à base arrondie ou fuselée et à pointe arrondie ou légèrement pointue. Les feuilles ne sont pas dentées et leur surface intérieure est couverte d'un fin duvet velouteux. Cependant, la surface supérieure est habituellement glabre et d’un vert plus foncé.

Fleurs et fruits

Les fleurs poussent en grappes ou en ombelles compactes presque sphériques à l'extrémité de la tige et aux aisselles des feuilles supérieures. Chaque fleur mesure de 8 à 10 mm de diamètre et est verdâtre ou pourpre blanchâtre, et compte cinq sépales minces, cinq lobes de pétales plus grands repliés sur le pédicelle et cinq capuchons ou cornes formant une couronne ou une coronule à disposition inhabituelle autour du sommet de chaque fleur. Les fleurs sont adaptées de façon unique à la pollinisation par les insectes. Leur pollen cireux est contenu dans de minuscules structures en forme de fourchette qui adhèrent aux pattes des insectes, mais s'en détachent une fois déposées par ceux-ci sur la fleur d'un plant différent. D'abord verts, les fruits sont charnus et mesurent de 7 à 10 cm de long et d’un quart à une demie de cette largeur. Ils sont couverts de protubérances souples et verruqueuses devenant brunes par la suite. Ils s’ouvrent dans le sens de la longueur en une seule fente et libèrent de nombreuses graines. Habituellement seulement une ou deux gousses (rarement jusqu’à cinq) se développent à partir des nombreuses fleurs d'une seule grappe. Les graines sont aplaties, ovales et portent une touffe de longs poils soyeux à une extrémité. Toutes les parties de la plante incluant la racine, la tige, les feuilles, les fleurs et les fruits contiennent un abondant suc laiteux épais. La floraison a lieu de la mi-juin à août et la maturation des graines d'août à octobre.

Rhizomes

Des racines souterraines qui s'étendent horizontalement et produisent de nouvelles tiges feuillues.

Habitat

L'asclépiade de Syrie pousse à travers le sud de l'Ontario dans les pâturages, les prairies, les terrains vagues, les terres cultivées et en bordure des routes. Elle est particulièrement commune dans l’île Manitoulin et la région centre est du sud de l'Ontario, mais elle semble se développer de plus en plus dans la plupart des autres régions de la province.

Traits distinctifs

Elle se distingue par ses paires de grandes feuilles ovales et légèrement poilues, ses ombelles de fleurs pourpres ou blanchâtres dont les parties sont disposées de façon particulière et à ses grandes gousses épaisses et légèrement verruqueuses. Elle produit un suc laiteux contenant de l’alcaloïde.

Toxicité Générale

D’autres espèces d’asclépiade sont très toxiques pour le bétail et certaines preuves indirectes portent à croire que l'asclépiade de Syrie pourrait, dans certaines circonstances, également être toxique.

Avantages d'espèces

Milkweed is the primary source of nutrients for monarch butterfly larvae. In addition, they are an important source of nectar for other species including bees.


Numéro de l'image1.

A. Partie supérieure de la plante florifère. B. Gousses dont une déhiscente montrant ses couches de graines et ses touffes de poils longs et soyeux.


Numéro de l'image10.

Fleurs compactes d’asclépiade. a) Cinq lobes de pétales plus grands repliés sur le pédicelle de la fleur. b) Cinq cornes ou capuchons formant une coronule ou une couronne autour du sommet de chaque fleur.


Numéro de l'image11.

Gousse (B).


Numéro de l'image12.

Gousse et graines d’asclépiade. Début novembre, dans le sud de l’Ontario.


Numéro de l'image2.

-


Numéro de l'image3.

Asclépiade dans le centre de l’Ontario, à la fin du mois de juillet. Les feuilles poussent à l’opposé ou sont verticillées.


Numéro de l'image4.

Jeune plant d’asclépiade dans un champ.


Numéro de l'image5.

-


Numéro de l'image6.

Tige d’asclépiade.


Numéro de l'image7.

Suc laiteux d’asclépiade


Numéro de l'image8.

Fleurs d’asclépiade avant la floraison.


Numéro de l'image9.

Fleurs pourpre blanc d’asclépiade de Syrie.