Horsetail, Field, Equisetum arvense

Life Cycle

Perennial

Propagation

Never has flowers or seeds but reproduces by spores and by horizontal underground stems (rhizomes).

Stems

They send up numerous aboveground shoots but of two different types at different times of the year. In early spring, the shoots are ashy-gray to light brown, unbranched, hollow, jointed stems each node (joint) surround¬ed by a toothed (b) sheath (a); and the tip of stem end¬ing in a brownish, spore-producing cone (c). After the cones have shed their spores (early May) these whitish to light brown stems wither and die down. At the same time, the second type of shoot emerges from the ground. These are green, slender, erect, hollow stems leafless but with whorls of 6 to 8 branches at nearly every node; each branch may branch again with whorls of smaller branches; stems and branches surrounded by a small, toothed sheath (d) at each node but never end in a spore-producing cone. Both kinds of stems are easily pulled apart at the nodes and can be fitted back together like sections of a stove pipe.

Flowers and Fruit

Never has flowers or seeds.

Roots and Underground Structures

Underground stems (rhizomes) are dark brown or blackish, spread out for long distances and are often 1 m below the ground surface. They send up numerous aboveground shoots but of two different types at different times of the year.

Habitat

Field horsetail occurs in all parts of Ontario in depressional areas with poorly drained soils, as well as in sandy or gravelly soils with good drainage such as railroad embankments and roadsides. An intense competitor, it can severely suppress crops and other plants.

Distinguishing Features

It is distinguished by its ashy-gray, unbranched, leafless shoots tipped with brownish, spore-producing cones in early spring, and later, from late spring or early summer onwards, by its whorls of 6 to 8 green, leafless branches and complete absence of flowers.

Toxicity

Field horsetail contains a substance which destroys vitamin B in animals. It is especially poisonous to young horses.

Human Health Issues

The "Poisonous Plants of Canada" publication lists Field horsetail, however no reports of human toxicity issues are mentioned, rather only those pertaining to livestock. Tilford (1997) makes mention of young horsetail shoots being edible, however a lengthy warning of potential issues is followed (see section on species benefits for more information).

Forage Quality

Hay containing this weed may be more poisonous than fresh plants in the field.

Species Benefits

The young shoots of field horsetail are edible however, " The high silica content in field horsetail may iritate the urinary tract and kidneys if used improperly. It is well documented that this plant absorbs heavy metals and chemicals from the soil it lives in. Plants growing at roadside or in the presence of any type of pollution should be avoided. Avoid consumption of the raw plant because horsetail contains thiaminase, an enzyme that destroys vitamin B-1 stored in the body; thorough cooking renders the enzyme harmless." From: Tilford, GL, 1997, Edible and Medicinal Plants of the West, Mountain Press Publishing Company, Missoula.

Power Ranking Corn

Power Ranking

↑ 19

 

Power Ranking Soybeans

Power Ranking

↑ 16

 

Biological Control

Currently none available for this weed.

Biopesticide Control

Currently none available for this weed.

Herbicide Resistance

Certainly a very difficult weed to control, however no cases of herbicide resistance in Canada have been documented. For more information on weed resistance: http://www.plant.uoguelph.ca/resistant-weeds/


Figure #1.

Field horsetail. A. Vegetative shoot (green). B. Spore-producing reproductive shoot (whitish to light brown).


Figure #2.

Rhizome of field horsetail.


Figure #3.

New field horsteail shoots coming originating from the rhizomes.


Figure #4.

Mature field horsetail plant.

Prèle des champs, Equisetum arvense

Cycle de la plante

Plante vivace.

Propagation

Plante vivace ne produisant ni fleurs ni graines, mais se reproduisant par spores et par tiges souterraines horizontales (rhizomes).

Tiges

Au début du printemps, elles sont gris cendre ou brun clair, non ramifiées, creuses et nouées (B, pl. 1) ; une gaine (a) dentée (b) entoure chaque noeud, et la tige se termine par un cône brun où se forment les spores (c) Après la dispersion des spores (début mai), les cônes pâlissent pour devenir brun clair, se fanent et meurent. Simultanément, un second type de tige apparaît, mince, dressée et creuse, (A, pl. 2) de couleur verte, sans feuilles, mais ornée d'un verticille de 6 à 8 rameaux presque à chaque noeud; chaque rameau pourra se ramifier et porter des verticilles plus petits; une petite gaine dentée (d) entoure chaque noeud de la tige et des rameaux; la tige ne se termine jamais par un cône sporifère. Les deux types de tiges se détachent facilement à l'endroit des noeuds et s'emboîtent comme les sections d'un tuyau de poêle.

Fleurs et fruits

Ne produisant ni fleurs ni graines, mais se reproduisant par spores et par tiges souterraines horizontales (rhizomes).

Rhizomes

Rhizomes brun foncé ou noirâtres rampant sur de longues distances, souvent à 1 mètre (3 1/3 pi) de profondeur. Ses rhizomes produisent à des moments différents de l'année de nombreuses tiges aériennes appartenant à deux types.

Habitat

La prèle des champs se trouve partout en Ontario, tant dans les dépressions mal drainées que sur les sols sableux ou caillouteux bien drainés, comme les talus de chemins de fer et les bords de routes. La prèle est très envahissante et peut étouffer les plantes cultivées et non cultivées.

Traits distinctifs

La prèle se caractérise par l'absence de fleurs et par ses deux types de tiges, l'une gris cendre, non ramifiée, sans feuilles, se terminant par des cônes sporifères et apparaissant au début du printemps, l'autre portant des verticilles formés de 6 à 8 rameaux verts sans feuilles, apparaissant plus tard, vers la fin du printemps ou au début de l'été.

Toxicité Générale

Mise en garde: Elle renferme, en outre, une substance qui détruit la vitamine B chez les animaux. Elle est particulièrement toxique pour les jeunes chevaux.

Issues De Santé Humaine

Les jeunes pousses de la queue de cheval de champ sont comestibles cependant, "le contenu élevé de silice dans la queue de cheval de champ peut iritate l'appareil urinaire et les reins si utilisé incorrectement. On le documente bien que cette usine absorbe les métaux lourds et les produits chimiques du sol qu'elle vit dedans. Des usines accroissant au bord de la route ou en présence de n'importe quel type de pollution devraient être évitées. Évitez la consommation de l'usine crue parce que la queue de cheval contient le thiaminase, une enzyme qui détruit la vitamine B-1 stockée dans le corps ; la cuisine complète rend l'enzyme inoffensive."

Qualité De Fourrage

Il se peut que la prèle séchée dans le foin soit plus toxique que la prèle fraîche.

Rang - Maïs

Classement selon le grade

↑ 19

 

Rang - Soya

Classement selon le grade

↑ 16

 

Lutte Biologique

Actuellement aucun disponible pour cette mauvaise herbe. Visitez http://res2.agr.ca/Lethbridge/weedbio/index_e.htm#toc pour la dernière recherche sur la commande biologique d'mauvaise herbe.

Biopesticide

Actuellement aucun disponible pour cette mauvaise herbe en maïs et soja.

Resistance aux herbicide

Aucun cas documenté de résistance aux herbicides en Ontario à ce jour.


Numéro de l'image1.

Prèle des champs. A. Tige stérile (verte). B. Tige sporifère (blanchâtre ou brun clair).


Numéro de l'image2.

rhizome


Numéro de l'image3.

New field horsteail shoots coming originating from the rhizomes.


Numéro de l'image4.

plante mûre.