Black Medick, Medicago lupulina

Life Cycle

Annual

Propagation

Producing only by seed.

Stems

Stems wiry, as much as 80 cm long and lying prostrate on the ground, or much shorter and erect or spreading.

Leaves

Leaves alternate (1 per node), compound with 3 small oval leaflets shallowly toothed at the tips and the central leaflet with a definite stalk (Figure 5, a) and the leafstalk (b) with a pair of thick stipules (c) at its junction with the stem.

Flowers and Fruit

Flowers individually very small but grouped in dense head-like clusters, about 1 cm in diameter, on long stalks from leaf axils. Each flower is very small, yellow (Figure 3). The seedpods are black (hence the common name), slightly coiled, prominently ridged and hairy or smooth. Flowers from early spring to late autumn, dropping its seed during most of that time.

Roots and Underground Structures

The root is slender but very tough and difficult to pull out or hoe off.

Habitat

Black medick occurs throughout Ontario in most soil textures. A particularly common weed in lawns, it also grows in gardens, waste places, roadsides, pastures and sometimes in cultivated fields.

Distinguishing Features

It is distinguished by its compound leaves having 3 oval leaflets, all with shallow teeth towards their tips but only the central one with a definite stalk (Figure 5). The small, nearly spherical clusters of yellow flowers on stalks usually longer than the leaves (Figure 3). The small clusters of black coiled seedpods produced from those flower heads.


Figure #1.

Drawing of whole plant.


Figure #2.

Cotyledon and first true leaf.


Figure #3.

Seedling plant.


Figure #4.

Mature plant.


Figure #5.

Trifoliate leaf.


Figure #6.

Small yellow flower.


Figure #7.

Seedpod.

Lupuline, Medicago lupulina

Cycle de la plante

Plante annuelle

Propagation

Se reproduit uniquement par germination.

Tiges

Ses tiges drues pouvant atteindre 80 cm de longueur, sont procombantes au sol ou bien beaucoup plus courtes et dressées ou étalées.

Feuilles

Les feuilles composées alternes (une par nœud) portent trois folioles ovales légèrement dentées aux pointes. La foliole centrale a un pédicelle distinct (Image 5, a) et le pétiole (b) est formé de deux stipules (c) épaisses à son point de jonction avec la tige.

Fleurs et fruits

Très petites, les fleurs à longs pédicelles et naissantes sur l’aisselle des feuilles sont groupées en grappes terminales denses d'environ 1 cm de diamètre. Chaque fleur est très petite et jaune (Image 3). Les gousses sont noires, légèrement en spirale, poilues ou lisses et marquées de stries proéminentes. La floraison commence au début du printemps et se termine à la fin de l'automne; la chute de graines s’effectue durant presque toute cette période.

Rhizomes

Bien qu’elle soit mince, la racine est très solide et difficile à arracher ou à sarcler.

Habitat

La luzerne lupuline se trouve partout en Ontario sur presque tous les types de sol. Mauvaise herbe particulièrement commune des pelouses, elle pousse également dans les jardins, les terrains vagues, les pâturages, en bordure des routes et parfois dans les champs cultivés.

Traits distinctifs

Elle se distingue par ses feuilles composées portant trois folioles ovales toutes légèrement dentées aux pointes et dont seule la foliole centrale a un pédicelle distinct (Image 5, a). Les petits groupes presque sphériques de fleurs jaunes sont placés sur des pédicelles habituellement plus longs que les feuilles (Image 3). Les petites grappes de gousses noires, en spirale, sont produites par ces inflorescences.


Numéro de l'image1.

Dessin de la plante dans son intégralité.


Numéro de l'image2.

Cotylédon et première véritable feuille.


Numéro de l'image3.

Jeune semis.


Numéro de l'image4.

Plant mature.


Numéro de l'image5.

Feuille trifoliée.


Numéro de l'image6.

Petite fleur jaune.


Numéro de l'image7.

Gousse.