Broad-leaved plantain, Plantago major

Life Cycle

Perennial

Propagation

Reproducing only by seed

Stems

Plant stemless, except for the leafless flowering stalks.

Leaves

Leaves are all in a basal rosette, oval or elliptic, 5-30cm long. The leaf blade is about as long as its thick green stalk, smooth or somewhat rough-hairy, with 3 to several prominent veins radiating from the leafstalk towards the tip, margins smooth or irregularly toothed.

Flowers and Fruit

The flowers are in a compact spikes on erect, leafless stalks from among the basal leaves. Each spike is about the size and shape of a lead pencil but consisting of many, tiny, stalkless, greenish flowers giving it a coarsely granular texture. Each flower is about 2-3mm across, with 4 sepals, 4 petals, 2 stamens and 1 pistil. The egg-shaped seedpod develops beneath the withering flower. This mature seedpod splitting apart with a circular fracture around its middle so that the top part drops off and releases the 5 to 16 dark brown or nearly black angular seeds, each about 1mm long. Flowers and sets seed from spring until late autumn.

Habitat

Broad-leaved plantain is very common in all but the most remote unsettled areas of Ontario occurring in cultivated land, pastures, meadows, waste places, roadsides, lawns and gardens.

Distinguishing Features

It is distinguished by its rosette of dull green, oval leaves with thick green stalks, and its elongated spikes of tiny green flowers each followed by a small egg-shaped pod with usually more than 5 tiny dark brown or nearly black seeds.


Figure #1.

A. Mature plant B. Seedling C. Cotyledon


Figure #2.

Young seedling.


Figure #3.

Basal rosette of Broad-leaved plantain.


Figure #4.

Leaf with prominent veins radiating from the leafstalk towards the leaf tip.


Figure #5.

Whole plant with seedhead.


Figure #6.

Seedpod.

Plantain majeur, Plantago major

Cycle de la plante

Plante vivace

Propagation

Se reproduit uniquement par germination.

Tiges

Plante acaule, mais dotée de hampes florales aphylles.

Feuilles

Les feuilles sont toutes disposées en rosettes basilaires, ovales ou elliptiques, de 5 à 30 cm de longueur. Le limbe des feuilles est presque aussi long que son pédicelle vert et épais, lisse ou couvert de quelques poils rêches, parcouru de trois à plusieurs nervures saillantes qui rayonnent du pétiole vers la pointe à bords unis ou irrégulièrement dentés.

Fleurs et fruits

Les fleurs en épis compacts sur des pédicelles aphylles dressés naissent à partir des feuilles basilaires. Chaque épi long et épais comme un crayon à mine est formé de nombreuses fleurs minuscules, sans pédicelle, verdâtres, lui donnant une texture grossièrement granuleuse. Chaque fleur mesure environ de 2 à 3 mm de diamètre et comprend quatre sépales, quatre pétales, 2 étamines et un pistil. La gousse ovoïde se développe sous la fleur en fanaison. Une fois mature, cette gousse déhiscente se sépare circulairement vers le milieu et la moitié supérieure se détache et libère de 5 à 16 graines angulaires brun foncé ou presque noires, chacune mesurant environ 1 mm. La floraison et grenaison ont lieu du printemps jusqu’à la fin de l’automne.

Habitat

Le plantain majeur est très commun partout en Ontario, sauf dans les régions inhabitées les plus éloignées. On le trouve dans les terres cultivées, les pâturages, les prairies, les terrains vagues, les pelouses, les jardins ainsi qu'en bordure de routes.

Traits distinctifs

On le reconnaît à sa rosette de feuilles ovales vert terne munies de pédicelles verts et épais et à ses épis allongés (a) de minuscules fleurs vertes dotées de petites gousses ovoïdes contenant généralement plus de cinq minuscules graines brun foncé ou presque noires.


Numéro de l'image1.

A. Plante mature B. Semis C. Cotylédon


Numéro de l'image2.

Jeune pousse


Numéro de l'image3.

Rosette basilaire de plantain majeur


Numéro de l'image4.

Feuille constituée de nervures proéminentes s’étalant du pétiole jusqu'à la pointe de la feuille.


Numéro de l'image5.

Plante intégrale avec tige porte-graines.


Numéro de l'image6.

Gousse