Sow-thistle, perennial, Sonchus arvensis

Life Cycle

Perennial

Propagation

Reproducing by seed and from buds on widely spreading, creamy white, brittle, underground roots.

Stems

Stems erect, 60 - 150 cm high, smooth and hairless on the lower part but glandular-hairy towards the top and on branches, hollow.

Leaves

Leaves of seedling plants (A) broadly club-shaped with irregularly toothed margins, the teeth ending in weak prickles (c), remnants of the cotyledons (seed leaves) (d) often visible; leaves of shoots from perennial roots (B) variable in shape, the lower ones shallowly to deeply lobed and irregularly toothed, reminiscent of Dandelion leaves but the teeth ending in small, weak prickles, with winged stalks (e); alternate (1 per node); middle and upper leaves similar but smaller with shorter stalks and clasping the stem with small, rounded basal lobes (f), or sometimes with larger basal lobes similar to those of Spiny annual sow-thistle; uppermost leaves (g) small, narrow, without lobes and with only a few teeth.

Flowers and Fruit

Upper stems, branches and involucral bracts (h) surrounding the flower heads usually densely covered with dark hair (j); each hair with a tiny gland (k) at its tip (these hairs, when seen under magnification, resemble a tiny lollipop) (these glandular hairs do not occur in its sister variety, Smooth perennial sow-thistle); flower heads showy, bright yellow, 2.5 - 4 cm across; each head containing only strap-shaped ray florets (like Dandelion flower heads and similar to those of Smooth perennial sow-thistle); seeds brown with lengthwise ridges and finer cross ridges; whole plant with sticky white juice and a rather sour odour. Flowers from June to late autumn.

Roots and Underground Structures

Widely spreading, creamy white, brittle, underground roots.

Habitat

Perennial sow-thistle occurs throughout Ontario in cultivated fields, pastures, meadows, woodland, waste places, roadsides, gardens and occasionally in lawns.

Competitiveness

Corn yield loss (%)*: 4 % at 1 plant/m2 15 % at 5 plant/m2 Soybean yield loss (%)*: 5 % at 1 plant/m2 20 % at 5 plant/m2 *assumes that the weed has emerged with the crop and has been left uncontrolled all season.

Distinguishing Features

It is distinguished before flowering by its variously lobed leaves with weakly spiny teeth; its soft, somewhat fleshy, bright green stems mostly arising directly from horizontal yellowish-white, fleshy, brittle, cord-like roots (b), these roots bearing many, small, whitish buds (a) able to grow into other new leafy stems; and the whitish vertical underground portion (m) of each upright stem resembling a root, but usually not tapering downwards except in first-year plants (A) which started from seed. Flowering plants are distinguished by their showy, large, bright yellow flower heads and the covering of glandular hairs (j) on the involucre (h) and the upper stems and branches.

Toxicity

Perennial sow-thistle is not know to be toxic.

Human Health Issues

Perennial sow-thistle is not a known allergen.

Forage Quality

No information exists at this time.

Species Benefits

"The young leaves can be added to salads or boiled for 10-15 minutes and eaten." From: Peterson, LA, 1977, A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants of Eastern and Central North America, Houghton Mifflin Company, New York.

Often Mistaken For

Dandelion (TAROF), Annual sow-thistle (SONOL), Smooth perennial sow-thistle (SONAU), Spiny annual sow-thistle (SONAS).

Power Ranking Corn

Power Ranking

↑ 16

 

Power Ranking Soybeans

Power Ranking

↑ 8

 

Biological Control

BIOCONTROL AGENT Tephritis dilacerata (Diptera: Tephritidae) WHAT DOES IT DO? Transforms flower buds into a button shaped galls. Larval feeding of T. dilacerata causes the base of the bracts to enlarge so they cannot open. This modification gives the larvae time to complete development, but the gall is not a metabolic sink. The larvae normally consume the entire receptacle and floret primordia, so attacked heads produce no seed. The fly, which overwinters as an adult, occurs through central and northern Europe. From 1979 to 1994, around 6,000 flies were released in Alberta, and 2,000 each in Saskatchewan, Quebec, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island, but have not been recovered. AVAILABILITY: To find out about availability of this biocontrol agent http://www.mcclay-ecoscience.com ------------------------------------------------- BIOCONTROL AGENT Liriomyza sonchi (Diptera: Agromyzidae) WHAT DOES IT DO? Larvae mine the leaves.Liriomyza sonchi is a leaf mining fly. The females deposit an average of 140 eggs singly through the upper epidermis of the leaf. Larvae form blotch mines and sometimes several larvae occur in a mine (Peschken and Derby 1988). Most larvae pupate in the debris of the soil surface. In Europe there are two generations (Hendel 1931-1936). Females suck plant sap from wounds produced with their ovipositor. From 1987 to 1991 over 9,000 pupae and adults were released between Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Saskatchewan, but have not been recovered. AVAILABILITY: To find out about availability of this biocontrol agent http://www.mcclay-ecoscience.com ------------------------------------------------- BIOCONTROL AGENT Cystiphora sonchi (Diptera: Cecidomyiidae) WHAT DOES IT DO? Creates pustule galls on the leaves. AVAILABILITY: To find out about availability of this biocontrol agent http://www.mcclay-ecoscience.com -------------------------------------------------

Biopesticide Control

Currently none available for this weed in corn and soybean.

Herbicide Resistance

No documented cases of herbicide resistance to date. For more information on weed resistance: http://www.plant.uoguelph.ca/resistant-weeds/

Legislation

Noxious under the Ontario Weed Control Act.


Figure #1.

Perennial sow-thistle. A. Young plant from seed. B. Base of plant from perennial root. C. Top of flowering stem.


Figure #2.

A 2-leaf seedling plant.


Figure #3.

Photo taken in Spring, Southwestern Ontario.


Figure #4.

Perennial sow-thistle leaf.


Figure #5.

Perennial sow-thistle prior to flowering.


Figure #6.

Perennial sow-thistle flower head.

Laiteron des champs, Sonchus arvensis

Cycle de la plante

Plante vivace

Propagation

Se reproduisant à partir de graines (germination) et de bourgeons (a) sur des racines traçantes (b) blanc crème et cassantes.

Tiges

Tiges dressées, de 60 à 150 cm (2-5 pi) de hauteur, creuses, lisses et glabres dans le bas, mais velues et glanduleuses au sommet et sur les rameaux.

Feuilles

feuilles des plantules (A) obovées, (en forme de massue) à bords irrégulièrement dentés, à dents se terminant par des piquants souples (c), portant souvent les vestiges des cotylédons (d); feuilles des pousses issues de racines vivaces (B), de formes variables, alternes (1 par noeud); feuilles les inférieures peu ou très lobées et irrégulièrement dentées, rappelant celles du pissenlit mais à dents se terminant par de petits piquants flexibles et à pétiole ailé (e); feuilles médianes et supérieures semblables, mais plus petites, à pétioles plus courts, garnies de deux oreillettes embrassantes, en général petites et arrondies (f) mais parfois plus larges, semblables à ceux du laiteron rude; feuilles les plus hautes (g), petites, étroites, sans lobes et ornées de quelques dents; haut des tiges, rameaux supérieurs et involucres (h) densément couverts de poils (j) foncés ressemblant sous la loupe à de minuscules sucettes et se terminant par une glande minuscule (k);

Fleurs et fruits

Capitules voyants, jaune vif, de 2,5 à 4 cm (1-1 3/4 po) de diamètre, à fleurons ligulés seulement, (comme ceux du pissenlit, similaires à ceux du laiteron des champs glabre); graines brunes à côtes longitudinales et à côtes transversales plus délicates; toutes les parties de la plante libèrent un suc blanc collant et dégagent une odeur plutôt aigre. Floraison de juin jusqu'à la fin de l'automne.

Rhizomes

De bourgeons sur des racines traçantes, blanc crème et cassantes.

Habitat

On trouve le laiteron des champs partout en Ontario, dans les champs cultivés, les pâturages, les prairies, les boisés, les lieux incultes, les jardins, au bord des routes et parfois dans les pelouses.

Compétitivité

Maïs: 4% et 15% en pertes de rendements à 1 et 5 plants/m2 respectivement. Soya: 5% et 20% en pertes de rendements à 1 et 5 plants/m2 respectivement.

Traits distinctifs

On reconnaît les plantes non florifères à leurs feuilles diversement lobées, garnies de dents légèrement épineuses, à leurs tiges vert clair, douces et un peu charnues issues pour la plupart de racines (b) horizontales, blanc jaunâtre, charnues, cassantes et semblables à de la corde qui portent de nombreux petits bourgeons (a) blanchâtres, pouvant à leur tour donner naissance à des tiges feuillues; la portion souterraine, verticale et blanchâtre (m), de chaque tige dressée ressemble à une racine, mais seulement celle des plantes de la première année se termine par un bout effilé vers le bout (A). On reconnaît les plantes florifères à leurs grands capitules jaune vif, et aux poils glanduleux qui couvrent l'involucre (h), les tiges et les rameaux supérieurs.

Toxicité Générale

Laiteron des champs n'est pas connu pour être toxique.

Issues De Santé Humaine

Laiteron des champs n'est pas un allergène connu.

Qualité De Fourrage

Aucune information n'existe actuellement.

Avantages d'espèces

"Les jeunes feuilles peuvent être mangées en salade ou bouillies pendant 10 à 15 minutes comme des épinards." De: Peterson, LA, 1977, A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants of Eastern and Central North America, Houghton Mifflin Company, New York.

Souvent méprise pour

Pissenlit (TAROF), Laiteron potager (SONOL), Laiteron des champs glabre (SONAU), Laiteron rude (SONAS).

Rang - Maïs

Classement selon le grade

↑ 16

 

Rang - Soya

Classement selon le grade

↑ 8

 

Lutte Biologique

AGENT: Tephritis dilacerata (Diptera: Tephritidae) Ce qu'il: L’alimentation des larves du Tephritis dilacerata fait que les bractées se dilatent à la base et ne peuvent pas s’ouvrir. Cette modification donne aux larves le temps de terminer leur développement, mais la galle ne constitue pas un puits métabolique. Comme les larves consomment normalement tout le réceptacle, y compris les ébauches florales, le capitule ne produit généralement pas de graines. La mouche, qui passe l’hiver au stade adulte, est présente dans tout le centre et le nord de l’Europe. De 1979 à 1994, environ 6000 adultes de l’espèce ont été relâchés en Alberta, et 2000 dans chacune des provinces de Saskatchewan, Québec, Nouvelle-Écosse et Île-du-Prince-Édouard9, mais il n’y a eu aucune recapture. Disponibilité http://www.mcclay-ecoscience.com/ ------------------------------------------------- AGENT: Liriomyza sonchi (Diptera: Agromyzidae) Ce qu'il: Le Liriomyza sonchi est une mouche mineuse des feuilles. La femelle pond 140 œufs en moyenne, un à un, à travers l’épiderme supérieur de la feuille. Les galeries larvaires forment des taches, et chacune renferme parfois plusieurs larves (Peschken et Derby, 1988). La plupart des larves se transforment en pupes dans les débris de la surface du sol. En Europe, il y a deux générations par année (Hendel, 1931-1936). La femelle suce la sève de la plante à la faveur des blessures causées par la ponte. De 1987 à 1991, plus de 9000 pupes et adultes ont été relâchés au Canada, répartis entre la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Nouveau-Brunswick et la Saskatchewan, mais il n’y a eu aucune recapture. Disponibilité http://www.mcclay-ecoscience.com/ ------------------------------------------------- AGENT Cystiphora sonchi (Diptera: Cecidomyiidae) Ce qu'il: Cystiphora sonchi produit sur les feuilles des galles ressemblant à des pustules Disponibilité: http://www.mcclay-ecoscience.com/ -------------------------------------------------

Biopesticide

Actuellement aucun disponible pour cette mauvaise herbe en maïs et soja.

Resistance aux herbicide

Aucun cas documenté de résistance aux herbicides en Canada à ce jour.


Numéro de l'image1.

Laiteron des champs A. Jeune plant issu d'une graine B. Pied d'une plante issue d'une racine vivace C. Sommité florifère.


Numéro de l'image2.

Plantule à cotylédon orbiculaires.


Numéro de l'image3.

Feuille - Laiteron des champs.


Numéro de l'image4.

Plant végétatif - Laiteron des champs.


Numéro de l'image5.

Fleur - Laiteron des champs.